Independent guide — we are not the maker or seller of Visivra. Some links are paid links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we earn
Formula

The Visivra Formula: Six Ingredients, Rated by the Evidence

Visivra’s label lists six actives. This hub grades each one by the strength of its human evidence, compares the formula with the best-known eye supplement trial, and points out what a buyer still needs to know. Every ingredient links to its own in-depth page.

Visivra formula ingredients overview
Visivra eye supplement six-bottle bundle
See the current Visivra offer

The 6-bottle bundle works out at $49 a bottle; every bundle carries a 60-day refund window that starts on your purchase date.

See Visivra Offer

The six actives

IngredientTypeWhy it is used in eye formulasEvidence snapshot
LuteinCarotenoidBuilds the yellow macular pigment that absorbs blue lightStrong — raises macular pigment; 10 mg used in AREDS2
ZeaxanthinCarotenoidConcentrates in the fovea, the centre of sharp visionStrong alongside lutein; 2 mg in AREDS2
BilberryFruit extractAnthocyanin antioxidants; traditional night-vision useWeak — best trials show no night-vision gain
AstaxanthinAlgae carotenoidAntioxidant tested for screen-related eye fatigueLimited — one small sponsor-funded RCT
ZincMineralHelps the retina use vitamin AGood in intermediate AMD (AREDS, 80 mg)
Vitamin AVitaminRaw material for rhodopsin, the dim-light pigmentEssential; extra only helps if you are low

Amounts aren’t published on the sales page. Research doses mentioned on these pages are not Visivra’s doses. 30 capsules per bottle. Take 1 capsule daily.

Three jobs, six ingredients

It helps to group the formula by what each ingredient is supposed to do:

JobIngredientsEvidence
Build the macula’s light filterLutein, zeaxanthinStrongest
Neutralise oxidative stressAstaxanthin, bilberryWeakest
Keep the light-sensing chemistry runningVitamin A, zincSolid where intake is low

The formula puts its best-supported ingredients first. The question marks are the antioxidants — and, across the board, the doses.

Visivra next to the AREDS2 formula

The AREDS2 trial, run by the National Eye Institute, is the yardstick for eye supplements:

NutrientAREDS2Visivra
Lutein10 mg✓ (amount not stated)
Zeaxanthin2 mg✓ (amount not stated)
Zinc80 mg✓ (amount not stated)
Copper2 mg—
Vitamin C500 mg—
Vitamin E400 IU—
Vitamin A / beta-caroteneRemoved in AREDS2✓ Vitamin A (form not stated)
Astaxanthin—✓
Bilberry—✓

They overlap but aren’t interchangeable. If an eye doctor has advised AREDS2 for you, Visivra isn’t a substitute.

Visivra eye supplement six-bottle bundle
Considering a bottle?

The seller offers 2-, 3- and 6-bottle bundles. If you take prescription medicine, show the label to your pharmacist first.

See Visivra Offer

Evidence grades explained

  • A — strong: consistent human trials at known doses (lutein, zeaxanthin).
  • B — good in a specific context: e.g. zinc in intermediate AMD; vitamin A when intake is low.
  • C — limited: small or sponsor-funded trials (astaxanthin).
  • D — weak: rigorous trials show no clear benefit (bilberry for night vision).
IngredientGrade
LuteinA
ZeaxanthinA (with lutein)
ZincB
Vitamin AB
AstaxanthinC
BilberryD

Safety across the formula

  • Zinc: adult upper limit 40 mg/day; interacts with some antibiotics, penicillamine and thiazide diuretics (NIH).
  • Vitamin A: preformed upper limit 3,000 mcg/day; high doses risk birth defects; beta-carotene raised lung-cancer risk in smokers (NIH).
  • Astaxanthin: up to 8 mg/day from supplements judged safe for adults (EFSA).
  • Bilberry: extract up to 160 mg/day for six months well tolerated; pregnancy safety unclear (NCCIH).
  • Lutein/zeaxanthin: long track record at 10 + 2 mg/day.

Full guide: Visivra safety.

Four things to look for on the label

  1. Milligrams of lutein and zeaxanthin — compare with 10 mg and 2 mg.
  2. Form and amount of vitamin A — retinyl palmitate/acetate vs beta-carotene.
  3. Zinc amount and form — and whether copper is included.
  4. Astaxanthin source and amount; bilberry standardisation — e.g. “% anthocyanins”.

Also check “other ingredients” for capsule material and possible allergens.

What a complete label would tell you

A full Supplement Facts panel lists every active ingredient with its amount per serving and, for vitamins and minerals, the percentage of the Daily Value. Below it, an “Other ingredients” line lists capsule material, fillers and flow agents. Herbal extracts are often described with a plant part and a standardisation (for example, “fruit extract, standardised to X% anthocyanins”). These details let you compare products like for like — and they’re exactly what Visivra’s sales page is missing.

Our view of the formula

On paper, it’s a focused, sensible eye formula that leads with the right nutrients. What we can’t judge from the outside is whether each capsule carries enough of them. Until the seller publishes amounts, treat the formula as promising but unproven.

Visivra eye supplement six-bottle bundle
Made up your mind?

Orders go through the seller’s BuyGoods checkout. Check the final total and screenshot it before you confirm.

See Visivra Offer

Common questions

What is the Visivra formula?

Lutein, zeaxanthin, bilberry extract, astaxanthin, zinc and vitamin A.

Is Visivra the same as AREDS2?

No. It shares three nutrients but lacks vitamins C and E and copper, adds astaxanthin and bilberry, and doesn’t publish doses.

Which ingredient matters most?

Lutein (with zeaxanthin) has the strongest evidence for supporting the macula.

Does the formula contain stimulants or caffeine?

None are listed. Check the full label for other ingredients.

Why aren’t the doses listed?

We don’t know — the sales page simply doesn’t show them. Ask the seller or read the bottle.

Sources

  1. National Eye Institute — Age-Related Eye Disease Studies (AREDS/AREDS2): major findings
  2. Linus Pauling Institute, Oregon State University — Carotenoids
  3. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Zinc: Health Professional Fact Sheet
  4. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Vitamin A and Carotenoids: Health Professional Fact Sheet
  5. EFSA — Safety of astaxanthin for its use as a novel food in food supplements
  6. NCCIH — Bilberry: Usefulness and Safety
  7. Sekikawa T. et al. Effects of diet containing astaxanthin on visual function in healthy individuals: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel study. J Clin Biochem Nutr. 2023;72(1):74–81
  8. Visivra sales page (seller)

Each reference was opened and read when this page was last updated (October 18, 2026).

About the author: Quoc Nguyen, MSc

Quoc Nguyen holds an MSc and works as a biology scientist. For this guide he reads the product’s sales and policy pages, then checks each ingredient claim against government fact sheets and published trials, and flags where the evidence runs out.

About this guide · Our standards

*The Food and Drug Administration has not evaluated these statements. Visivra is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We publish general information, not personal medical advice: please check with your doctor, pharmacist or eye-care professional before starting a supplement — particularly during pregnancy or breastfeeding, alongside medication, or with an existing eye condition.

Visivra · from $49 a bottle
Paid link · 60-day guarantee
Check Price